gear swap demystified

IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS ON THE REAR DRIVE SHAFT OR AXLE, IT GOES HERE.

Topic author
photo_van
I sleep in my van

gear swap demystified

Post by photo_van »

At the risk of posting concurrently with Lifted (whom I owe great appreciation too), this is for those that have never had a diff apart, but for various reasons (worn bearings, gear swap, etc) think they would like too. I don't suggest that I'm an expert by any means as this is only the second gear swap I've done, but this is how I did it and what I found.

If you are on this site, then chances are you don't like, or can't afford to have someone else work on your van.

Differentials have always held this mystery of the un-touchable, or taboo, that for some reason if we go in there, we're never coming out. But really, it's just a few gears and bearings that have to be assembled with in some set guide line tolerances, a Swiss watch it is not! I say this all now, but I only have a few hundred miles on my swap, so time will tell.

After swapping 4.10s in the front end viewtopic.php?f=60&t=8579 a month ago, with road trip season upon me, I needed to get the rear to match.

First myth to debunk: you need a nice clean shop, with lots of special tools:

welcome to my shop (note the wheel chocks on the wrong side) :dunce:
_MG_0448.jpg
As far ar special tools, I did the front end with three: dial indicator, a torque wrench and a small fish scale.

This time, because I thought I was going to reuse all the bearings, and I had recently visited my Dad's old shop with cool tools, and to make it easier, I did use some additional tools: feeler gauge. micrometer, calipers, bearing separator and puller. On both the front and rear I used an air impact to loosen the pinion nut, but that may not be necessary.

This job was to replace the broken G30 limited slip with an Eaton Truetrac ($388 Amazon) and install a set of used OEM 4.10 gears ($110 ebay).
_MG_0440.jpg
1998 AWD/4WD