1st time maintenance for 85K 2004 AWD Astro headed to South

General technical discussion and troubleshooting

Topic author
Wiley
ASV Supporter
ASV Supporter

1st time maintenance for 85K 2004 AWD Astro headed to South

Post by Wiley »

Hi, as some of you know I bought an Astro with the hopes to drive it to South America. Naturally there were no sevice records from the previous owner, so I am going to err on the side of caution and assume that no maintenance has been done. I was looking for a list of what you would do as prep for a trip like this, or even just for others who wonder what they should do 1st when buying a used Astro. I will put a list of what I “think” should be done from what I have researched on here, feel free to add and strike from the list. I am also looking for what can be done myself (realize that is hard to determine), as I am no mechanic. , but I usually do fine with a handy guide (Already saved a bunch to my computer from this site!). Due to lack of time I plan on doing some of the work “on the road” as I am sure I can borrow parts with the help of some cervezas, and paying a mechanic for what I cannot do should be cheaper in most places down there. Some of this was taken from Spike99’s 88K maintenance thread as well. Thanks

Install Trans-Cooler
Oil change/filter
Replace Fuel Filter
Coolant flush, new Thermostat
Replace Brakes/Rotors
Replace Spark Plugs, Wires, (change cap/rotor?) – AC Delco
Change Belt and Tensioner-Carry old one as spare
Spare bulbs/fuses
Air Filter – Read people discourage K&N Air filters. I like that they can be reused, but does it cause damage to the Astros??

The above I plan on doing, below are maybes/questions:
Parts can be tough to get, and expensive with import taxes depending on where I am, so what would be ideal for preventative maintenance: